fbpx

Book Magic Mysteries

Independent Booksellers are a vital part of our communities. 

Please consider shopping Indie! 

Find an Indie Bookseller near you via Indie Bookstore Finder or support local bookstores by shopping online with BookShop.

A combination of magic and mystery, “Murder In Devil’s Cove” by Melissa Bourbon is a deftly crafted and impressively original novel by an author with a genuine flair for originality. While certain to be an unusual, immediate and enduringly popular addition to community library Mystery/Suspense collections, it should be noted for the personal reading lists of anyone who enjoys Women’s Friendship Fiction, Cozy Animal Mysteries, or Supernatural Mysteries…”

Midwest Book Review

 

“Brilliant Series! Melissa Bourbon has penned a blockbuster for the fourth book in her Book Magic Mystery series [Murder Through an Open Book] with a delightful writing style, complex ongoing mystery, wonderful characters, and a fascinating premise two-thousand years in the making…for me, this is a favorite series and a major contender for “Top Favorite” of 2022.”



Book Magic Mysteries: Traditional mysteries with a cozy twist

Pippin Lane Hawthorne has the ability to foresee the future and unravel the past with the help of the books we love. Join her as she uses her otherworldly power to solve mysteries and stop a two thousand year old curse.

Shop Local! Support Indie!

Find my Book Magic books on your next trip to the Outer Banks! Both Buxton Village Books, near Hatteras, and Books to be Red on Ocracoke, carry the series. All my other books can be ordered in both charming shops, as well.

TSORRL-e-reader

The Secret on Rum Runner’s Lane, a Book Magic Mini Mystery (Prequel)

ASIN: B08LDSY5DD

Publisher: Lake House Press (November 10, 2020)
Available online at

 

The Lane women are bibliomancers, but Cassie sees her divination not as a gift, but as a curse–one from which she desperately wants to escape. It turns out, though, that running from her fate isn’t as easy as she thought it would be. When a woman goes missing, and a neighbor turns up dead, Cassie turns to the books she’s always avoided to help her find the truth.

Murder in Devil’s Cove 2021 high res

Murder in Devil’s Cove, A Book Magic Mystery, Book 1
ISBN-13: 978-0-9978661-1-7
Publisher: Lake House Press (September 22, 2020)
Available online at

 

Perfect for fans of Ellery Adams, David Rosenfelt, and Kate Carlisle.

After twenty years, Pippin Lane Hawthorne and her twin brother, Grey, return to their birth place—the Outer Banks island of Devil’s Cove. But what was supposed to be a chance at a new life turns sinister when their father’s old fishing boat reveals a dark secret.

Now Pippin must embrace her fate as a bibliomancer and learn how to ‘read’ the books she’s always shied away from. Only then will she be able to discover the truth about what really happened to her parents and continue their efforts to break the curse that has haunted the Lane family for two thousand years.

“…a deftly crafted and impressively original novel by an author with a genuine flair for originality…certain to be an unusual, immediate and enduringly popular addition to community library Mystery/Suspense collections…” ~Midwest Book Review

MATSCI-e-reader

Murder at Sea Captain’s Inn, A Book Magic Mystery, Book 2
ISBN-13: 978-0-9978661-6-2 
Lake House Press (July 20, 2021)

 

Generation after generation of Lane women die in childbirth, while the sea claims the men.

Pippin Lane Hawthorne’s grand opening of Sea Captain’s Inn is tainted when a scholar studying the Lost Colony of Roanoke is brutally murdered. Like the black crow that hangs around the old house, could the untimely death be a harbinger of dark things to come?

When her twin brother, Grey, begins bucking the curse by risking his life in the waters of the Outer Banks, Pippin lives in terror that he’ll be the next Lane male to be swallowed by the sea. Now she must use her gift of bibliomancy to save her brother, solve the murder, and end a two thousand year old pact.

MTAOD-e-reader

Murder Through an Open Door
ISBN-13: 978-0-9978661-7-9
Lake House Press (January 25, 2022)

 

To stop the curse that has plagued her family for centuries, Pippin Lane Hawthorne has enlisted the help of authors Tolkien, Homer, and Dickens. How? Through bibliomancy, a practice by which passages in books speak to her in cryptic code that only she can decipher. When she finds a message from her mother in an old copy of The Secret Garden, she hopes this book might hold the answers she so desperately seeks.

The book leads Pippin to a vital clue, but before she can figure out what it means, she stumbles upon a dead body. Though the authorities deem the death is from natural causes, the books found scattered around the body tell Pippin a different story—the victim was murdered. And the death is connected to her family and the curse. Now, to solve a murder in the present, Pippin must dig deeper into her family’s troubled past, even if it means staring danger in the face.

“Filled with quirky characters and atmospheric descriptions of the quaint town of Devil’s Cove, Bourbon hits all the right notes for a cozy: amateur sleuthing, several possible suspects, bookstores, and a touch of romance.”
~Elena Taylor, Author

“This series had me at ‘book magic’ and wrapped me up in its unique plot from start to finish!” ~Carrie Schmidt, ReadingIsMySuperPower.org2

Murder-and-an-Irish-Curse-e-reader

Murder and an Irish Curse
ISBN-13: 
Lake House Press (July 20, 2021)

  Coming soon to IndieBound 

Hailed as “impressively original” by Midwest Book Review, the Book Magic Mysteries  celebrate the magic in books. In this enchanting new story, Pippin Lane Hawthorne hopes her gift of bibliomancy will be enough to finally stop the curse that has plagued her family for two thousand years. But for every question Pippin answers about the past, a new one arises…
 
It’s fall on the Outer Banks island of Devil’s Cove and Sea Captain’s Inn has no vacancies. Pippin Lane Hawthorne practices bibliomancy in between caring for her guests. But the Venatores, an ancient group seeking to steal what doesn’t belong to them is getting closer. Only Pippin and her twin brother can stop them.
 
Despite his sister’s warnings, Grey Hawthorne, is elbow deep in refinishing his old boat. He hasn’t told Pippin where it comes from—and its connection to the Tuatha dé Danann. The boat can help them finally break the curse, but it may cost Grey his life in the process. It’s a risk he has to take.
 
When Grey disappears, Pippin fears the worst—that he’s taken his boat out to sea, and there he will meet his death. She turns to her West Coast cousins, bookshop owner Jamie McAdams, and the rest of her new community to help save her brother and stop the Venatores, but is she too late? 

Book Magic Mysteries Boxed Set
ASIN: B09FB3R735
Lake House Press (September 10, 2021)

 

 

Bibliomancer Pippin Lane Hawthorne will stop at nothing to break the curse that has plagued her family for two-thousand years.

This digital box set contains books 1 and 2 in the Book Magic Mystery series, as well as a prequel novella.

The Secret on Rum Runner’s Lane: The Lane women are bibliomancers, but Cassie sees her divination not as a gift, but as a curse–one from which she desperately wants to escape. It turns out, though, that running from her fate isn’t as easy as she thought it would be. 

Murder in Devil’s Cove: Pippin Lane Hawthorne must embrace her fate as a bibliomancer and learn how to ‘read’ the books she’s always shied away from. Only then will she be able to discover the truth about what really happened to her parents and continue their efforts to break the curse that has haunted the Lane family for two thousand years.

Murder at Sea Captain’s Inn: When her twin brother, Grey, begins bucking the curse by risking his life in the waters of the Outer Banks, Pippin lives in terror that he’ll be the next Lane male to be swallowed by the sea. Now she must use her gift of bibliomancy to save her brother, solve the murder, and end a two thousand year old pact.