Book Magic Mysteries

Book Magic Mysteries: Traditional mysteries with a cozy twist

Two best-selling authors, one magical universe.

In the Book Magic Mystery Series, best-selling authors Melissa Bourbon and Wendy Lyn Watson bring you the story of cousins Pippin Lane Hawthorne and Cora Lane.  The cousins live on opposite coasts (Pippin in Devil’s Cove, North Carolina, and Cora in Laurel Point, Oregon), but they share the family gift of bibliomancy:  the ability to foresee the future and unravel the past with the help of the books we love. Join Pippin and Cora as they use their otherworldly power to solve mysteries in their respective worlds.

Every book tells two stories – one written on the pages with pen and ink, and one woven into the paper, a story of the soul.  The Lane women have the gift of bibliomancy.  They can read them both.

Murder in Devil’s Cove
ISBN-13: 978-0-9978661-1-7
Publisher: Lake House Press (September 22, 2020)
Available online at


Almost everyone in the Lane family line dies young. The gift of bibliomancy tells their story before the deaths happen. But Cassie Lane doesn’t see it as a gift. For her, it is a curse. As soon as she’s able, she leaves Laurel Point, Oregon, running from her past and her fate, ending up in the Outer Banks of North Carolina. There she meets Leo Hawthorne and lives a perfect life with him in an old Sea Captain’s house. 

Perfect, that is, until Leo vanishes at sea.

After an old copy of Moby Dick foretells Leo’s death, Cassie forbids all books from the lives of her children with Leo. But when twins Pippin and Gray discover a secret room where their father hid away books that were special to him, long forgotten secrets surface, an old crime comes to light, and everything Pippin thought she knew is turned upside down. 

Death at Cape Misery
Publisher: Cat Eye Press (December 2020)
Available online at


The Lane family “gift” was Cora Lane’s curse.  As a bibliomancer, she delved into the lives of the people around her, culling through their secrets and revealing the lies they preferred to keep hidden.  The habit left her on the outside of life looking in.  When Cora was 17 years old, her twin sister Lily disappeared from their home town on Oregon’s coast. Cora should have known what had been going on with her sister, but she had been so lost in the pages of other people’s stories that she had failed to notice Lily’s troubles. Her neighbors didn’t trust her claim of ignorance. They thought the girl who knew everyone’s secrets was keeping one of her own.

When Cora turned eighteen, she escaped the whispers and sidelong glances, leaving behind her beloved Aunt Rose, the family business, Books by Bequest, and the books that haunted her. 

Now, fifteen years later, Aunt Rose has summoned her home. Lily’s high school boyfriend, now a best-selling author, has returned to write an exposé on Lily’s disappearance, churning up the past like a storm-ravaged ocean. On top of that, developers are trying to force Rose to sell the family’s lighthouse on Cape Misery. Cora is prepared to do anything to defend her family’s past, but nothing can prepare her for the danger lurking in the sleepy coastal town of Laurel Point. Only the family gift—Cora’s book magic—can save her and unmask a killer.

How this series came to be…

Wendy Lyn Watson is one of my best friends. We met after I first moved from California to North Texas and have been friends ever since. I’ve since moved to North Carolina, but for me, Wendy is one of those people that, no matter how much time has passed and no matter where life takes us, when we talk or see each other, we fall right back into the rhythm we had. I treasure her.

In North Texas, she and I lived one street over from one another. We walked, talked, and plotted our respective books together. One day while we were out walking, Wendy shared with me her idea about a bibliomancy mystery series. I instantly loved the idea and couldn’t wait for her to write it. In fact, if I am remembering things accurately, I pestered her about it quite a bit!

But life got in the way. Wendy is a professor, so her day job and her other book contracts came first. The Book Magic Mysteries remained just a brilliant idea, but it was still on both of our minds and we couldn’t let go of it. A few years passed and we revisited the concept of the series. Except instead of it being written only by Wendy, we came up with the idea of doing it together. 

The Book Magic Mysteries feature the Lane women, Cora and Pippin, who live on opposite coasts. The Death books, written by Wendy, feature Cora who lives in Laurel Point, Oregon. The Murder books, written by me, are set in Devil’s Cove, North Carolina. Cora and Pippin are cousins and bibliomancers. There is a family curse (see below) and mysteries on each coast. 

We hope you’ll join us on this mystery adventure!