Cozy. Caper. Magical. Suspense. Pick your mystery.

Sign Up For my Email Newsletter 

and receive a free digital copy of THE BOOKISH KITCHEN,

an exclusive cookbook with recipes from my books!

Rising cozy mystery author Winnie Archer cooks up her latest installment in her delightful and delicious Bread Shop Mystery series.

Photographer Ivy Culpepper is soon to make a home with her husband-to-be in the California beach town of Santa Sofia—but the Yeast of Eden bakery remains her second home. It’s not just a place to work, but a community. And now one member of the community has been murdered . . .

A regular who used Yeast of Eden as a workspace, Josh Prentiss always turned heads with his startlingly good looks and thousand-watt smile. But Ivy can’t help noticing one morning that he seems distracted and off his game. Later, during a visit to the park where she and Miguel plan to hold their engagement party—with plenty of baked goods on the menu—her rescue pug, Agatha, sniffs out Josh lying in a bed of poppies…scone cold dead.
There’s no reason for Ivy to get involved. She’s busy enough holding down the fort as the shop’s owner, Olaya, cares for her recently orphaned niece, not to mention the stress when a new employee is fired and storms out in a rage.  Then a band of rabble-rousers starts picketing the bakery, claiming that Olaya’s sourdough roll is what killed Josh—and Ivy hears some salacious gossip about her beloved boss. She doesn’t think there’s a grain of truth to the seedy rumors—but to prove it, she’ll have to start sleuthing . . .

A combination of magic and mystery, “Murder In Devil’s Cove” by Melissa Bourbon is a deftly crafted and impressively original novel by an author with a genuine flair for originality. While certain to be an unusual, immediate and enduringly popular addition to community library Mystery/Suspense collections, it should be noted for the personal reading lists of anyone who enjoys Women’s Friendship Fiction, Cozy Animal Mysteries, or Supernatural Mysteries…” ~Midwest Book Review

“Brilliant Series! Melissa Bourbon has penned a blockbuster for the fourth book in her Book Magic Mystery series with a delightful writing style, complex ongoing mystery, wonderful characters, and a fascinating premise two-thousand years in the making…for me, this is a favorite series and a major contender for “Top Favorite” of 2022.”

Discover the magic.

“…Defly crafted and impressively original.” -Midwest Book Reviews


After twenty years, Pippin Lane Hawthorne and her twin brother, Grey, return to their birth place—the Outer Banks island of Devil’s Cove. But what was supposed to be a chance at a new life turns sinister when their father’s old fishing boat reveals a dark secret.

Now Pippin must embrace her fate as a bibliomancer and learn how to ‘read’ the books she’s always shied away from. Only then will she be able to discover the truth about what really happened to her parents and continue their efforts to break the curse that has haunted the Lane family for two thousand years.

“…a deftly crafted and impressively original novel by an author with a genuine flair for originality…certain to be an unusual, immediate and enduringly popular addition to community library Mystery/Suspense collections…” ~Midwest Book Review

There's Trouble in Tumbleweed!

Online dating isn’t everything it’s cracked up to be. Or maybe it is. Case in point: Mikenna Kelsey, the perennially perky owner of Cowboy Coffee, is charmed by a guy she thinks is special. But then, after what has to be the most spectacular date in history, he ghosts her, leaving her high, dry, and heartbroken.

Tumbleweed Today editor Hope McIntyre decides to dig into the ghosting epidemic with a series of articles. What she finds is that the Cowboy Casanova has left a string of broken hearts as long as the Chisholm Trail.

When the guy is found dead, Mikenna—and every other jilted woman in town—becomes a suspect in his murder. Hope makes it her business to discover who made sure the Tumbleweed Romeo would be permanently taken off the market and pushing up daisies.


Harlow Cassidy (Magical Dressmaking) Mysteries

“…a clever premise…trade secrets, snappy dialog…” 
-Library Journal

Ivy Culpepper’s Bread Shop Mysteries

“Wheels within wheels power a dark-inflected cozy.”

-Kirkus Reviews

Pippin Lane Hawthorne (Book Magic)  Mysteries

“…A deftly crafted and impressively original novel by an author with a genuine flair for originality.”

-Midwest Book Review

Light Paranormal Romance

Top Pick “Love, laughter, magic, romance, and treachery, this novel has it all.”

-Night Owl Reviews


Mystery Suspense

“…will keep you up into the wee hours–and you won’t regret one second of it. Not one.”
-USA Today Bestseller, Joyce Lamb

Mystery Suspense

“…gripping and keeps you on the edge of your seat.”
-A Goodreads Reader

Melissa Bourbon is the author of multiple mystery series including the Pippin Lane Hawthorne Book Magic books, the Harlow Cassidy Magical Dressmaking series, the Bread Shop Mysteries, written as Winnie Archer, the PI Caper Lola Cruz series, and several stand-alone mystery suspense novels. Her five kids live and travel all over while she lives in beautiful North Carolina with her educator husband and her dogs, Bean, the pug, Dobby, the chug, and Pippin, the super breed.  

Independent Booksellers are a vital part of our communities. 

Please consider shopping Indie! Click to find an Indie Bookseller near you.